Peg Leg Porker BBQ – Nashville, TN

With my work day done and a few hours to spare before heading to the airport, it was time for some dinner.  I could have hit up Nashville’s well known hot chicken scene or settled for some home cooking.  But I wanted one last taste (at least for this trip) of Tennessee style pulled pork.  I had tweeted TM BBQ Daniel Vaughn earlier who said after Martin’s BBQ, I should try Peg Leg Porker BBQ.  Low and behold it was on my way to the airport. Peg Leg Porker is a really cool restaurant started by a competition team near downtown Nashville.  The team is a well known in the KCBS world, especially in the SouthEast.  So I had to stop by and try a sandwich on my way back home.

IMG_0486

Their pulled pork sandwich was solid.  The tender pulled pork had a great hint of smoke and crust from the bark.  It was accentuated well by their tangy house sauce.  When I grabbed my order at the window, the cashier suggested I try their spicy sauce.  I grabbed a bit of that and ran my sandwich through it.  WOW.  Their spicy sauce had a great kick that resonated on the tongue.

The biggest surprise was the sides.  When I asked what their best side was, the cashier said the smoked green beans.  They smoke…..smoke their green beans with bacon and onions for a tasty variation on classic green beans.  They did not disappoint.  The smokey flesh really enhanced the green beans in a way that I would have never believed.  They were fantastic and one of the best things I ate  on the trip to TN.

All in all the food at Peg Leg Porker was great.  I felt the pulled pork at Martin’s BBQ was slightly smokier and seemed to have a bit more moisture.  But I certainly was not let down by Peg Leg.  Its worth a visit again the next time I am in Nashville.

F – 3

V – 3

R – 3

Peg Leg Porker was part of a TMBBQ Tennessee by Texas Monthly BBQ Editor Daniel Vaughn.

peglegporker.com

Leave a Reply

